The Risks of Driving Without Insurance in Florida

  • Auto
  • /
  • The Risks of Driving Without Insurance in Florida

Driving without insurance in Florida is illegal, and those caught breaking this law will face legal penalties. Penalties can range from fines to license or registration suspension, not to mention the significant increase in future insurance premiums. 

In the Sunshine State, anyone who fails to meet the minimum auto insurance requirements required by law is considered uninsured. All drivers in the state must have at least $10,000 in property damage liability. Since Florida is a no-fault state, drivers must also have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)

Let’s investigate what happens to drivers caught driving uninsured and how drivers can build their Florida auto insurance policies to include the legally required coverage to avoid the repercussions. 

The Risks of Driving Without Insurance in Florida

Driving without car insurance in Florida is illegal, and those who fail to comply with the law risk facing legal penalties and financial ruin. Florida law mandates that all drivers have $10,000 of property damage liability and PIP on their policies. 

Carrying the minimum legal coverage in the Sunshine State and every state can ensure your safety and the safety of others on the road. If you fail to comply with the minimum legal requirements, you may be liable for any expenses you or any other parties incur in an accident. 

While having at least the minimum legal coverage can help you cover the expenses directly associated with an accident, it can also protect you from the legal penalties associated with driving uninsured. When driving uninsured, the costs accrued in an accident can tally up quickly, as you could be liable for fines, reinstatement fees for your license if it’s suspended, legal fees if the other party decides to sue you, and any medical bills or vehicle repairs from the accident. 

The Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Florida

The penalty in Florida for driving without insurance can vary from fines to license or registration suspension, depending on the severity of your offense. Drivers could face fines as high as $500, steep reinstatement fees after license or registration suspension, and the fees associated with recovering a vehicle from impoundment. 

The severity and number of subsequent offenses will often determine your penalty for this crime. Suppose a driver has a clean record and realizes they misplaced their proof of insurance during a routine traffic stop. In that case, they may face a lighter penalty than a driver who critically injured another driver in an accident while driving without insurance. Those who cause accidents while uninsured typically face the more severe consequences of this crime.

Ready to Save Money on Auto Insurance?

Rethink your auto insurance premium with a free quote from the nation’s top companies.

What’s the Punishment in Florida for Driving Without Insurance?

Driving a car without insurance in Florida is illegal and punishable by law. Drivers who break this law may face up to a $500 fine, license and registration suspension, and vehicle impoundment. While the legal punishments are hefty enough to deter most drivers from breaking this law, drivers who get behind the wheel without an active insurance policy may also risk financial ruin. 

If you’re driving without insurance and cause an accident, you may be liable for all the associated costs. That means you’re on the hook for your medical expenses, vehicle repairs, and those for the accident victim. Plus, the victim may sue you for damages, risking your savings and requiring you to pay hefty legal fees for defense.

On top of all those expenses, it’s important to remember that without a license or a vehicle, how you earn and save money can be significantly impacted. If you rely on your car to go to and from work, you may face work loss due to driving without sufficient coverage. 

Is There a Fine for Driving Without Insurance in Florida?

The fine for driving without proof of insurance in Florida and for driving without insurance, in general, can be up to $500, depending on the frequency and severity of your offense. 

While the fine for driving without insurance isn’t much in the grand scheme of things, the other costs associated with this crime are far more significant when tallied together. Running the risk of medical debt, legal fees, and work loss is much more expensive than paying the premiums on an insurance policy.

The average full coverage policy in the state costs about $2,700 annually in premiums, which is expensive, but not nearly as expensive as the costs associated with driving uninsured. While the short-term savings associated with forgoing insurance coverage may be tempting, an insurance policy is much more cost-effective and easier to budget for than financial ruin. 

Some of the top insurers in the state offer policies for lower-than-average base rates, with plenty of opportunities for discounts. The cheapest policy in the state may come from an insurer like Travelers or Progressive, with minimum coverage policies at nearly half the cost of the average full coverage premium. 

What Happens in Florida When Driving Without Insurance in an Accident?

The charge for driving without insurance in Florida in an accident may be more severe than the charge in a routine traffic stop scenario. The penalties typically range based on the severity of the offense but may also vary based on the frequency or your record of the same offense. If you’re in an accident and have an active and adequate insurance policy but fail to show your proof of insurance, your penalty may be less severe than someone who doesn’t have a policy.

If you cause an accident while driving without insurance in the Sunshine State, you may be liable for several expenses. Since Florida is a no-fault state, meaning all drivers must carry a first-party medical benefit (FPMB) like PIP, drivers without this coverage will be liable for their own medical expenses. Plus, since driving uninsured is against the law, the accident victim may sue the uninsured party that caused it, leaving the uninsured driver liable for legal defense fees and any pain or suffering costs they must pay to the victim.

Getting into an accident while uninsured can put a driver at risk of severe legal and financial trouble. On top of the fines and the possibility of license or registration suspension, uninsured drivers may also be liable for medical expenses for themselves and other parties involved in the accident and legal fees if any accident victims sue. All in all, it’s much safer and far less expensive to carry the minimum legal auto insurance coverage than risk financial ruin in the worst-case scenario. 

Ready to Save Money on Auto Insurance?

Rethink your auto insurance premium with a free quote from the nation’s top companies.

Is Driving Without Insurance Illegal in Florida?

Driving without auto insurance in the state of Florida is illegal and punishable by fines and license or registration suspension. All drivers must have at least $10,000 of property damage liability and PIP on their policies. Drivers who lease or finance their vehicles may be legally required to have collision coverage and comprehensive coverage as a component of their legally binding contract. While driving uninsured won’t directly lead to jail time, that’s not to say the offense isn’t severe. The costs associated with breaking the mandatory insurance law can tally up quickly and threaten one’s life savings instantly. 

Drivers caught without an adequate insurance policy will likely require an SR-22 form when they bind a policy in the future. An SR-22 policy is a waiver an insurer files with the state to certify a high-risk driver has an active and sufficient policy. While filing an SR-22 itself isn’t very costly, the existence of one on one’s record can double or triple one’s premiums for years to come. 

Is Driving Without Insurance a Felony in Florida?

The driving without insurance in Florida citation isn’t directly a felony, but that’s not to say that those who break the insurance law may not violate other laws that lead to a felony charge. Driving without insurance in the Sunshine State leads to severe consequences but doesn’t directly lead to jail time. Some drivers who break multiple traffic laws at once may face arrest, but only if the other crimes are misdemeanors or felonies, like driving while intoxicated or without a valid license. 

If you’re interested in binding a policy in the Sunshine State, the best way to find the right policy for your needs is to get and compare quotes online. By getting and comparing quotes from several insurers, you can find the right policy that fits your budget.

Lucky for you, you’ve come to the right place for quotes. Here at Clovered, we have a free quoting tool you can use to get tailored quotes in just minutes. If you prefer to chat with a licensed agent about your quote, call us at 833-255-4117 or email us at

Ready to Save Money on Auto Insurance?

Rethink your auto insurance premium with a free quote from the nation's top companies.

The editorial content on Clovered’s website is meant to be informational material and should not be considered legal advice.

Scroll back to Top