Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

  • Auto
  • /
  • Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

In Georgia and most other states, driving without insurance is illegal. Uninsured drivers face legal consequences ranging from mild to severe, not to mention the financial ruin associated with an at-fault accident while driving uninsured. 

The only requirement for auto insurance in Georgia is $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability per accident, otherwise known as 25/50/25 liability coverage. Drivers with coverage that doesn’t meet this limit are underinsured, the same as being uninsured in the Peach State.

Let’s take a look at what happens to drivers who lack sufficient auto insurance and how much coverage drivers should carry on their Georgia auto insurance policies to avoid legal consequences.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia

Driving without insurance in Georgia is illegal, and those who do so may face consequences varying in severity, depending on the severity of the case. The minimum legal amount of car insurance for Georgians is $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability per accident, otherwise expressed as 25/50/25 liability coverage on a policy.

Drivers who carry at least the minimum coverage can guarantee their safety and the safety of other drivers on the road. Liability coverage kicks in to help the victim of an accident caused by the policyholder to cover their medical expenses or repairs to their vehicle. If you cause an accident and lack sufficient coverage, you run the risk of paying out of pocket for all the expenses the victim incurs, not to mention the expenses you incur and the legal consequences of driving uninsured.

The penalties for driving uninsured in the Peach State range from hefty fines to license or registration suspension to jail time. The costs associated with driving uninsured can add up fast since you’ll be liable for any expenses associated with an at-fault accident, plus any fines or restoration fees for your license or registration.

Let’s take a closer look at the penalties for driving uninsured in the Peach State and who may face them.

Ready to Save Money on Auto Insurance?

Rethink your auto insurance premium with a free quote from the nation’s top companies.

How Much Is a Ticket for No Insurance in Georgia?

The no insurance ticket cost in Georgia can range from $150 to $2,000, depending on the driver’s frequency of offenses and the severity of each crime. Those who simply forgot to renew their policy may face more minor fines than those who’ve knowingly driven without an active policy for a long time. Those who cause an accident while uninsured may face a more hefty ticket or fine, among other more severe consequences.

License and Registration Suspension for Driving Uninsured in Georgia 

Drivers without sufficient insurance in Georgia may face license and registration suspension, even first offenders. First offenders may face about 60 days of license or registration suspension, with each subsequent offense resulting in more time, up to six months. 

License and registration suspension may seriously impact your life, considering many daily activities and income sources rely on transportation. Those who have their licenses or registrations suspended face work loss when they lose their mode of transportation and may face reinstatement or impoundment fees, depending on the severity of the offense. 

Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without Insurance in Georgia?

Yes, you can go to jail for driving uninsured in Georgia, as the crime is considered a misdemeanor. Jail time is one of the more severe penalties for driving uninsured and will likely only happen on a second or subsequent offense. Still, all drivers who lack sufficient insurance do run the risk of suffering this consequence. 

Those caught driving without insurance will likely require an SR-22 form for a long time, in addition to a valid car insurance policy. The SR-22 form in Georgia is a form your insurer will file with the Department of Driver Services (DDS) to prove you have sufficient coverage. Those caught without an SR-22 who require one are more likely to face jail time than those who don’t have this form.

What Happens in an Accident Without Insurance in Georgia?

Depending on the severity of the case, there are different penalties for driving uninsured in the Peach State. For example, the no proof of insurance in Georgia ticket is a smaller consequence than causing an accident while uninsured. While the penalties range based on the severity of the offense, they also range based on how many previous violations you have. If you’ve been caught driving without insurance several times, you may face penalties commonly associated with causing an accident while uninsured.

If you cause an accident while driving without insurance in the Peach State, you may be liable for several expenses. Since Georgia is a tort state, not a no-fault state, drivers must carry liability coverage to help cover the expenses another party may incur if the policyholder is at fault. Without minimum liability coverage, an uninsured driver is liable to pay for any accident expenses, both their own and the other party’s, out of their own pocket.

On top of the expenses associated with an accident, an uninsured driver may face monetary legal penalties, like fines. To add insult to injury, an uninsured driver may also open themselves up to financial ruin as the victim in an accident may choose to sue the uninsured at-fault driver for any expenses, like pain and suffering, associated with the accident. 

Ultimately, paying the premiums associated with a minimum coverage policy is more cost-effective than risking financial ruin with the expenses you may incur by driving uninsured. Georgia’s average full coverage policy costs about $1,780 annually, only about 5% higher than the national average of $1,670. A full coverage policy is the best in the state because it offers the most coverage, and each policyholder can tailor it to their needs.

Since a minimum coverage policy will get you about half the coverage of a full coverage policy, they average at about $900 annually, give or take a few dollars. The cheapest policy in the state may come from Nationwide or State Farm, where base rates are lowers and discounts are abundant.

All this to say, having car insurance that meets the legal minimums is far better (and, most often, cheaper) than having no insurance at all. The short-term savings of skipping out on car insurance pale compared to the financial consequences uninsured drivers often face.

Ready to Save Money on Auto Insurance?

Rethink your auto insurance premium with a free quote from the nation’s top companies.

Is It Illegal To Drive Without Insurance in Georgia?

Yes, it’s illegal to drive without car insurance in Georgia. All drivers with vehicles registered in the state must have at least 25/50/25 liability coverage on their policies. Those who finance or lease their vehicle may be legally obligated by their lender or leaser to have comprehensive and collision coverages on their policy.  Failure to comply with the minimum car insurance requirements is punishable through hefty fines, license or registration suspension, or jail time. 

It’s essential to ensure you always maintain the legal minimum amount of coverage. In Georgia, the fine for dropping insurance or letting your policy lapse before getting a new one can exceed $100, with taxes and registration reinstatement fees included.

Georgia Laws on Driving Without Insurance

In Georgia, it’s illegal to drive without insurance or with a policy that fails to meet the legal minimum requirements in the state. All drivers in the Peach State must have a policy with at least 25/50/25 liability coverage. Those who don’t own their cars may have to carry comprehensive or collision coverages as a stipulation in a legally binding finance agreement.

While drivers won’t typically be pulled over for lacking sufficient insurance, since it’s challenging to keep tabs on everyone’s insurance status, those who violate other traffic laws or get into an accident while uninsured will likely face the consequences. Failure to provide valid proof of insurance after a routine traffic stop may also result in legal penalties.

Car Insurance Quotes for Georgia

If you’re uninsured but have decided the savings are no longer worth the risk, the best way to find an auto insurance policy with what you need is by getting and comparing quotes online. Here at Clovered, quotes are our specialty. In minutes, you can use our free quoting tool to compare rates and policies from Georgia’s top insurers. If you prefer to speak to an agent, you can call us at 833-255-4117 or email us at

Ready to Save Money on Auto Insurance?

Rethink your auto insurance premium with a free quote from the nation's top companies.

The editorial content on Clovered’s website is meant to be informational material and should not be considered legal advice.

Scroll back to Top